Yes And

Yes I am aggressive
Yes I get angry
Yes I often speak before thinking
Yes I have a big mouth
Yes I take things personally
Yes I can be self-absorbed
Yes I can be prideful
Yes I can be arrogant

And I stand up for those who have been wronged,
including myself, even if it will cost me
And I go out of my way to support others,
especially new teachers,
and those who are sick, alone, and marginalized
And I am compassionate
And I am empathetic
And I deplore injustice
And I am fully engaged
And I am self-aware
And I am hilarious

And I am creative
And I am vulnerable
And I am complex
And I am an excellent teacher
And I am quick to forgive
And I am quick to apologize
And I am wanting to learn, grow, change
And I would have stuck up for any of you if unjustly fired
Like I stuck my neck out for Linda
And Rema

And I am full of courage
And I am a warrior
And I dare greatly
And I refuse to listen only to my critics, for

“It is not the critic who counts; not the [wo]man who points out
How the strong [wo]man stumbles,
Or where the doer of deeds could have done them better

“The credit belongs to the [wo]man in the arena
Whose face is marred by dust and blood;
Who strives valiantly; who errs,

“Who comes short again and again,
Because there is no effort
Without error and shortcoming;

“But who does actually strive to do the deeds,
Who knows great enthusiasms,
Who spends [herself] in a worthy cause;

“Who at the best knows in the end
The triumph of high achievement,
And who at the worst, if [she] fails,
At least fails while daring greatly.”

(Theodore Roosevelt)

0 Responses to “Yes And”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow jen_galicinski on Twitter

